Winnipeg Jets NHL Jets Home NHL Jets Facebook NHL Jets Twitter NHL Jets Instagram NHL Jets on Snapchat NHL Jets Official Youtube Page Sign Up for Jets Mail Mobile App Jets Club
2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic 2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic Manage Your Account Jets Pass HQ
  • RSS

IIHF introduces new format for U18 and U20 tournaments.

Monday, 07.29.2013 / 1:04 PM CT / News Articles
Share with your Friends

IIHF introduces new format for U18 and U20 tournaments.

For the first time since 2003, the IIHF Ice Hockey U18 and U20 World Championships will have a new competition format. There will be four teams from each group making the playoffs and playing traditional quarter-finals. This means there will no longer be a semi-final bye from the preliminary round winner.

The changes will be implemented for the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship in Sochi, Russia (18-28 April) and for the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö, Sweden.

The current format had three teams from the five-team preliminary round groups qualify for the playoffs. The winners from each group earned a bye into the semi-finals. The 2nd and 3rd place teams would then play in a quarterfinal round. The 4th and 5th place teams moved to the relegation round.

The new format will see the top four teams from each group qualify for cross-over quarter-final playoffs. The quarter-final round will be played according to the traditional IIHF cross-over format: A1 vs. B4, A2 vs. B3, B1 vs. A4, B2 vs. A3.

The losers of the quarter-finals will be ranked according to their preliminary-round placement and records.

The fifth and last placed teams from each group will now play a best-of-three, resulting in the losing team being relegated to Division I.

If the series goes full length, the tournament will play a total of 31 games which is the same number as the old format.